类别
作者 Pierre Chen
更新日期 August 26, 2022

美国电动车税务补贴改革

美国参议院于2022年8月7日通过「降低通膨法」法案(Inflation Reduction Act, IRA),2022年8月12日众议院投票通过,已送到白宫给美国总统拜登完成签署,新法案重点之一包含支持美国本土生产制造的电动车补贴,欲申请补贴电动车必须在北美组装,提供购买电动车的消费者7500美元的税收抵免,也取消了原先20万辆车企销量限制,使得原本已经在北美在地大量生产电动车且超过门槛的Tesla和通用汽车(GM)可重获补贴。

如表一,该 7,500美元的补贴分成两部分  1)电池中矿物原料供应40% 以上来自美国或与美国有自由贸易协定的国家中开采或加工,可获得 3750美元补贴  2)电池组件有50% 来自美国或与美国有自由贸易协定的国家,可获得3750美元补贴 ,上述供应比例限制将逐年调升10%至2027年的最高80%。 
除此之外,1)从2024年开始,使用来自「有疑虑国家」电池组件的电动车不能适用补贴2)从2025年开始,任何电池采用的主要金属原料来自「有疑虑国家」开采、加工或回收亦不适用补贴。因此,我们预期降低通膨法的通过势必将对全球电芯供应链造成影响。

表一:IRA对于电动车补贴的影响
20220826_Impacts of IRA_cn_1
 

全球电池供应链在地化趋势更加明确

图一:全球电芯供应链分布
20220826_Impacts of IRA_cn_1
Source: IEA 2022 

图二:韩国正极材料制造商产能分布与预测
20220826_Impacts of IRA_cn_3
Source: Companies, InfoLink 

根据IEA于2022年7月发表的IEA 全球电动车电池供应链报告,如图一所示,电池金属原材料主要集中于澳洲、印尼等地,电池材料的前驱体、电池组件以及电芯制造则集中于中国,这也使得中国以外地区在建置电芯厂时由于缺乏相关材料供应链,乃至于从评估、设计、建厂到达成目标产能所需时间远高于在中国建厂及扩厂的速度,例如宁德时代在中国扩建一个电芯厂耗时不到一年,而在德国设厂则需耗时超过三年。

而降低通膨法的购车补贴7,500 美元对于目前车价约40,000美元的主流平价电动车,补贴达到车价的20%左右,对美国一般民众购车决策将有显著地影响,且该法案对于在中国加工的电池材料前驱物以及电池材料有所限制,亦将使得全球电池供应链在地化发展的趋势更加明确。预期降低通膨法案将加速中国以外地区特别是在美国或有与美国签署FTA的国家建置电池材料供应链。

由于韩国与美国签有FTA,且韩国电芯厂如LG Energy Solution以及SK Innovation在美投资已布局多时,电池材料部分如图二所示,韩国电池材料制造商 Posco Chemical、LG Chem、Ecopro BM在2025年也规划有50% 以上的正极材料产能在美欧及韩国地区,InfoLink预期韩国电芯与电池材料相关公司受惠最大。
 

政策带来的时间压力


20220826_Impacts of IRA_cn_4
Source: Companies, InfoLink  

透过InfoLink预估的美国电芯产能和需求,不难想见该法案在2023-2024年仅部分限制来自中国的电池供应链,对于整体供应链发展并不会带来显著影响。但越往电芯上游的原材料开采及加工所需评估、规划、建厂到产量爬坡的时程越长,而该补贴限制从2024年开始禁止从中国生产的正极材料与负极材料意味着业者仍可在一定比例上从中国进口前驱体制成电池材料,但从2025年开始将完全禁止在中国开采、加工到回收的电池主要金属原料,等同要求欲获得补贴的电芯供应链完全去中国化,此举很可能将迫使现有电芯供应链的前驱体加工、电池材料到电芯环节高比例集中在中国的情况有所改变,但时间压力下相应供应链的建立进而让全球电芯产业链的区域比重重新洗牌耐人寻味。

Category
Author Pierre Chen
Updated August 26, 2022

Electric vehicle tax credit reform

The Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) was passed by the U.S. Senate on August 7  and the House of Representatives on August 12, and then signed into law by President Biden on August 16. One of the major parts of the bill includes a $7500 tax credit for new electric vehicles. To qualify for the tax credit, EVs must be assembled in North America. The Act removed the 200,000-unit-per-manufacturer cap on sales, meaning that Tesla and General Motors (GM), both already producing more than the threshold number of EVs in North America, will once again eligible for the tax credits.

As shown in Table 1, the $7,500 credit is composed of two halves: 
  • Batteries with more than 40% of the critical mineral extracted or processed in the U.S. or in countries with which the U.S. has a free trade agreement (FTA) will receive the $3,750 credit. 

  • Batteries with 50% of their components sourced in the U.S. or countries with which the U.S. has an FTA will receive a credit of $3,750. Minimum acceptable levels will increase by 10% points annually until hitting 80% in 2027.
     

In addition, EVs using battery components from a list of “foreign entity of concern” will not be eligible for the credits starting 2024. Also, batteries using critical mineral sourced, processed or recycled from the list of “foreign entity of concern” will not be eligible for the credits starting 2025. 

Against these backdrops, the passage of the Inflation Reduction Act will inevitably impact the global cell supply chain.

Table 1. Impacts of the IRA on EV tax credits
20220826_Impacts of IRA_en_1
 

Increasing localization of the global battery supply chain

Figure 1. Global cell supply chain distribution
20220826_Impacts of IRA_en_2
Source: International Energy Agency (IEA), 2022

Figure 2. Capacity distribution and forecast for Korean anode material manufacturers
20220826_Impacts of IRA_en_3
Source: InfoLink Consulting

According to the Global Supply Chains of EV Batteries report by the International Energy Agency (IEA) released in July 2022, as shown in Figure 1, battery metals are mostly extracted in Australia and Indonesia, while precursors, battery components and cells manufacturing is concentrated in China. This results in significant longer time required to assess, design, build plants and achieve target capacity outside of China due to the lack of key raw materials supply. For example, it takes less than a year for CATL to build a cell plant in China, while it takes more than three years in Germany.

The $7,500 credit covers about 20% of the price of a general affordable electric vehicle that costs about $40,000, which will be a significant factor in the decision to purchase a vehicle in the U.S. The bill also imposes restrictions on battery materials and precursors processed in China, making the trend toward localization of the global battery supply chain even clearer. The Inflation Reduction Act is expected to accelerate the establishment of battery material supply chains outside of China, particularly in the U.S. or countries that have signed a FTA with the U.S.

As South Korea has signed a FTA with the U.S.; Korean cell companies such as LG Energy Solution and SK Innovation have been investing in the U.S. market for years. As shown in Figure 2, Korean battery material manufacturers Posco Chemical, LG Chem, and Ecopro BM are planning to have more than 50% of their anode material production capacity in the U.S., Europe and South Korea by 2025, InfoLink expects that Korean cell and battery material companies to benefit the most. 
 

Time pressure from policy

20220826_Impacts of IRA_en_4
Source: InfoLink Consulting
 
InfoLink’s estimate of U.S. cell capacity and demand suggests that the IRA only partially restricts the battery supply chain from China during 2023 to 2024 and will not have a significant impact on the overall supply chain development. Assessment and planning of raw material mining and processing of cells, as well as plant construction and manufacturing activity takes a long time, while the subsidy restriction bans anode and cathode materials from China from 2024. This allows  companies to import a certain amount of precursors from China until 2025, when battery metals that are extracted, processed, and recycled in China will be completely banned. This will force manufacturers in the cell supply chains that wish to receive credits to be fully independent from Chinese supply. 

Such Act is likely to change the situation in which China dominates precursor processing as well as battery and cell materials. The reshuffling of the regional proportion of the global cell supply chain as a result of the establishment of supply chains under time pressure is intriguing.